Releasing Your Backbone

I know people who have prayed — hours on end, days at a time, for the right person to come into their lives. I know people, right now, who will go to bed tonight praying that tomorrow they will cross paths with the person who is meant to be their traveling buddy until the day they die. I don’t mean traveling in the literal sense only even though that’s cool; I mean the person who will hold your hand through the good, the bad, and the ugly.

I’m talking about the person who knows all the weird stuff about you, but who still wants to be with you.

I’m talking about the person who knows that you hate tomato.

I’m talking about the person who knows what dog and cat hair will do to you and your jacked up sinus cavity.

I’m talking about the person who knows when you’re lying when you say you’re okay sometimes. And that person is not afraid to tell you you’re lying.

I’m talking about the person who sees the side of you that’s been hurt to the core, but would never take advantage of your vulnerability.

I’m talking about the person who accepts the fact that sometimes your quietness borders on rudeness, but wouldn’t change you for the world.

I’m talking about the person who knows your family, your history, and yes, your past but still wants to be with you.

I’m talking about the person who is nearly your mirror image except for the differences that make your union stronger. That “opposites attract stuff” — take it over there, because, in the end, you need to be with someone who shares your values, morals, goals and dreams. You better be equally yoked. I’m not talking about the “he’s loud/she’s quiet” kind of thing because stuff like that is what makes up the yin and yang. Be with someone who will help you grow.

For all the people I know who long for that level of companionship, I know just as many who have let that once-in-a-lifetime person slip right through their fingers for a “right now” person. It’s sad and stupid on so many levels. From the bottom of my heart, I believe there is only one person in this world who is unconditionally, undeniably your soulmate. You don’t let that person go especially when you’ve experienced the ones who were with you for reasons other than the right ones. You just don’t.

There’s a song by Stevie Wonder that’s been remade a couple of times, but it’s never lost its affect on me. As is one of those songs that explains the kind of love you hope for. A while back, someone told me to listen to Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran. That’s what you’re looking for.

 

4 thoughts on “Releasing Your Backbone

Leave a Reply

