Where I’ll Fail You as a Friend

Iron sharpens iron. I will hold the ladder for you, but once you reach the top rung, I expect you to reach down, grab my hand, and help me the top, too. I will be your biggest cheerleader, but you better be cheering for me, too.

What you will never, ever, ever get from me is pity. Hear me out. I’ll be sympathetic and truth be told, I’m one of the most empathetic people you’ll ever meet, but I’m not going to sit and watch you drown in self-pity. I know that may make some feel that I’m a little cold and unfeeling, but I’m not. Nothing could be farther from the truth. I just refuse to let life trample all over me and I won’t stand by and let my friends allow it to happen to them.

The Loss of a Friend(ship)

Let me preface this by saying that I know what it means to be scared. Fear is fear, regardless of the reason, regardless of the source.

One the things I can’t tolerate is constant negativity. I know pessimism can easily seep into our lives, but I also know that if we’re going to live, and I mean really LIVE, we can’t let that thing set up home in our lives. The woman who used to be my best friend was filled with such negativity that I began to dread out conversations. Don’t misunderstand, I tried so hard encourage her, but it became too much.

I let the friendship go for good this past October over an incident that proved, without a shadow of a doubt, that her selfishness would always win out. I should have known back in 2010 when she was able to send a break-up letter to her then fiancé while he was in hospice, that the level of selfishness was just too much.

I can’t deal with people like that. I won’t deal with people who think so little of others.

The Good Stuff

I fully believe that the strongest, most amazing people are molded by heat. I believe that the ones who have the hardest journeys are the ones who pave the way for others. I believe these folks make the best friends. I am blessed to be surrounded by many women and men like that. My vow is to support them. I believe that we’re on this planet to encourage others who need and will accept encouragement to become their full, magnificent selves. Where I will fail them is if they expect me to stand by and allow them to become stagnant in their missions. I’m not here for that. Where I will fail them is if they want me to stand by and be a party to self-destruction. There’s too much living to do. There’s too much living to do. I’m here to support and uplift. That’s what you’ll get.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Where I’ll Fail You as a Friend

  1. I can’t deal with watching someone make consistently bad choices with a bad attitude then complain about how the world is out to get them. Always a victim but making no changes. Can’t. No time for it anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I can see where it would be hard to admit you are *that* common denominator but that’s when it’s time for a serious soul overhaul!

        Like

  2. I can’t deal with it either. You know I been through shit but I learned from it. I had this close friend (least I thought so) whom was very negative especially about her body. I would give her techniques on how I was able to overcome some of her same issues and after a while it becomes to tiring to repeat yourself. Some people I assume don’t actually want to learn self love or they are not ready to open their hearts and minds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It took me a while to understand and accept the same thing about my ex-bestie. She is okay with wallowing in self-pity and actually told me once before that she wants a man to take care of her. I was mortified because I just don’t understand how any person wouldn’t want to stand on their own two feet.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

