Clearing Your Head

Here we are at the beginning of a new year. Tons of people have resolved to get in better physical shape. Some of them have paid for new gym memberships. Some renewed their old, unused ones. Lots of people have vowed to eat better. They’re going to drink more water. I’ll be honest and tell you that I’ve vowed to do all this stuff, too. I know I need to lose weight. My family’s medical history is filled with diabetes, cancer, and high blood pressure so outside of the fact that my knees hurt because of the excessive weight, those medical issues provide plenty of inspiration for me to hit the pavement and work off some of these extra pounds. While I want to look good in my clothes, my greater mission is to improve my overall physical health. In the same vane, I will continue to work on my mental state.

Depression and Anxiety

Even before I was married, I suffered from what I now know was depression. It was periodic and only happened when things went wrong. That thing became 100 times worse after October 23, 1993, though. It would not leave under any circumstance. There was always an underlying sadness. Oh, and the anxiety. I remember the times when I could not breathe. I was never diagnosed as being clinically depressed, but I believe that’s only because I didn’t get help earlier. I was placed on anti-depressants, but was never officially diagnosed with depression. While we still living in Denver, I was given a prescription for Zoloft so in reality, for what my doctor saw as a low level of depression. The Zoloft proved to be too much for my system because I could barely hold my head up. I was taken off them, but I had already planned to stop taking them because I thought I was too strong for them.

Once I moved to Dallas, I knew I needed help, so I spoke with my primary care doctor about the situation and was given a prescription for Celexa. It worked, but I dragged. I was able to get some balance, but for the most part, I was on a slight time-delay. I would hear what people were saying to me, but my responses were delayed enough that my friends noticed. That’s when my doctor also prescribed Wellbutrin. It was a perfect combination. Things were a lot better. All of this happened before I started counseling through my church. By His grace, I was able to leave the meds behind. My thinking became clearer. I needed to talk to someone. I will always be grateful for the help I received through Oak Cliff Bible Fellowship.

Taking Care of the Whole You

While you’re working on the physical you, make sure you take of the mental and emotional you. Get any help you need — ANY HELP!

If you don’t want to seek counseling with a secular professional, seek help from a spiritual leader. Your mental and emotional health is equally important as your physical health. Where one fails, the others just may follow. Even if they don’t all fail, there will surely be a lack of balance.

Know that there’s no shame in seeking help for your mental health. Many people feel that seeking counseling is a sign of weakness. It’s not. The strongest among us need help sometime. If you don’t release some of that pressure, you’ll crack. No one says you have to advertise your situation to the world. It’s your business, but you need to take care of your business. Get your head right. Keep yourself together.

 

Leave a Reply

