The Start of Something Big

December 16, 1929

FullSizeRender 9

Before I get into the meat of this post, I have to acknowledge the fact that today is my mom’s birthday. She would have been 87. Since her passing on October 24, 2015, there have been days when the mere thought of her shakes me to the core. There have been days when I couldn’t even function. There are, however, days when I giggle a lot because I’ll think of something she said, see some little note she left me, or someone will mention something funny she told them. She was a joy. She was a gem. I miss her.

December 16, 2016

I refuse to end the year 2017 in the same way this one is ending. Understand that I’m not complaining because I don’t care what’s happening in a person’s life, things can be 100% worse. I know because things have been worse. A lot worse. They are, however, going to be better for me and mine this time next year.

The reason I know they will be better is because I’m taking measured steps to make sure they are. If you want things to fall in a certain order, make provisions so that they will. For me, that means working hard now to set things in motion so that come January 1, the ball will already be rolling.

2017

My book will be published. I will be working feverishly on the second one.

I will be speaking on a frequent basis to groups about the hell and effects of domestic violence. I will use my voice to encourage women to move forward.

My blog — yes, this one — will reach more women. Again, I will use my voice to encourage women to move forward.

The Personal Me

I will be in my “forever” home shortly before my 50th birthday. I’ve already set things in motion to have the home of my dreams built. This one has been a long time coming. Since I got divorced in 2013, I’ve moved a total of four times. Just typing that makes me cringe.

I despise moving. I HATE moving. In my eyes, unless you’re moving for military purposes, constant moving signifies instability. It goes back to childhood for me. I grew up in what some would consider a shack, but it was my home. I grew up in it and wouldn’t know of another family home until my parents moved into the home I’m sitting in right now. They finally got their brick home in 1989. It’s a small home, but it was their dream. It’s a small home, but the love and warmth you feel when you step in this place are captivating. My home will carry that same feeling of love.

I will finally get my weight under control. Stress has caused me to gain a ton of weight. I let it get out of control, but I won’t let it remain that way.

I’m going to vacation. Y’all are going to get sick of my vacation posts. I’ve never, in my entire life, been on a vacation. I know that’s sad, but it’s true. That changes in 2017. Believe me, that changes in 2017.

Get a Move On!

I hope that you guys will set things in motion for yourselves, your dreams, and your missions. We don’t have any time to waste. I’m not saying that your every waking moment should be used for work; it shouldn’t. You must make time to play. Play hard because life holds enough serious stuff for you.

Make 2017 amazing. No one can do if for you. Do it for yourself!

 

2 thoughts on “The Start of Something Big

Leave a Reply

