Counting Those Blessings

“Gratitude means thankfulness, counting your blessings, noticing simple pleasures, and acknowledging everything that you receive. It means learning to live your life as if everything were a miracle, and being aware on a continuous basis of how much you’ve been given.” ~ Marelisa Fábrega

There are so many amazing things to be grateful for. I spent nearly twenty years discounting the things that I should have been grateful for because of the people, situations, and circumstances that were clouding my vision of not only my surroundings, but my view of myself. I discounted myself. I had lost so much hope in myself and humanity as a whole that I wasn’t able to see the blessings that were all around me.

I couldn’t see the fact that my life as a whole and the fact that I was even alive was a blessing. I should have died on July 21, 2009, but I was spared.

I couldn’t see the fact that I was living in a beautiful house. The fact that it was 3500 sq. ft. had no bearing on the fact that I was blessed to have shelter, but I couldn’t see it in any manner.

I couldn’t see the fact that I had plenty of food in my kitchen. It was not the always what I wanted to eat (anyone who knows me knows that I despise beans for the most part), but I had a pantry full of food.

There are so many wonderful things we should be grateful for, from the very air we breathe to the fact that we have each other.

Many blessings to you guys!

2 thoughts on “Counting Those Blessings

Leave a Reply

