“You Ain’t Got No Boyfriend?!?!”

I’m not sure if I laughed harder at the question or at the expression on my favorite aunt’s face when I told her I didn’t have a boyfriend. She was absolutely shocked. I was absolutely tickled.

“Baby, You Need to Get You Somebody!”

While my favorite auntie had summoned me to the kitchen table and made me take a seat so that we could talk, one of my other aunts had my sister pinned in a corner asking her why I wasn’t with anyone. I’m not sure what my sister said, but I have a pretty strong idea. We talk about the fact that I’m single quite often. I’ve never hidden the reason that the man who is undeniably my soulmate aren’t together. The details will be in the book, but just know that this isn’t the first time we’ve been apart. Since 1989, we’ve always been a part of each other’s lives in one way or another.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand. I explained to my aunt why my soulmate and I aren’t together and she understood. She actually agreed that we shouldn’t be together right now, but she was also insistent that I need to be sharing and spending my time with someone right now. I agree, kind of. While I miss being one-half of a couple, I also know that being with a man just to say that I’m with someone is amazingly stupid. I know plenty of people who cannot, for whatever reason, be by themselves. I’m not one of those people.

I’ve had plenty offers to go on dates; many of my friends have tried to fix me up; some people have suggested that I start the online dating process. I’m not taking anyone up on any of those offers because it just doesn’t feel right. No, there is absolutely no fear or residual pain from my 19-year marriage. No, I’m not waiting on a reconciliation with the last guy. I’ve never been the type to go out looking for a man so trust and believe that I won’t start now. When the time is right, the time will be right. I’m in no hurry.

In the Meantime…

I’ll be right here blogging, working on my book, writing for other people, selling Mary Kay, and soon, I’ll be on the public speaking circuit. I’m good.

Leave a Reply

