The Sweetness of Today

Today, I started graduate classes.

The last time I was formally enrolled in school was November 2003 in Kaplan College’s General Paralegal Studies program. Before that, I had not sat in a classroom since December 1988 when I graduated from Grambling State University with my degree in Business Management.

Even though I always knew I would one day pursue an entrepreneur career, I went to work in a corporate setting in the insurance field for many years. After that, I worked in the legal field as a Litigation Paralegal. What I learned from those years is that I’m no good at allowing someone else to control my time. I always used my vacation time wisely and didn’t abuse my sick leave, but God had different plans for me.

Initially, I left corporate America to stay at home with Will after he was the victim of bullying. Eventually, I realized that I’m meant to run my own business, thereby, I am able to run my life. I don’t have to miss Will’s games. I able to leave at the drop of a dime to head to Dallas to get my granddaughter. I work the weirdest hours because there is no one else’s clock to abide by except my own.

This advanced degree is going to further my adventures into the creation of the world that I want to make my own. I plan to teach at the university level. I’ve always known that I wanted to teach. For the longest time, I thought I wanted to do that at the elementary level. Nah, I need to be with the older student.

Considering where I was just a few years ago, I feel really good about the progress I’m making. Don’t ever let anyone block your blessing. Don’t ever block your own blessing.

2 thoughts on “The Sweetness of Today

Leave a Reply

