These Lives of Ours

The life of every single individual on this planet matters. It doesn’t matter what color, race, creed, sex, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, marital status or socioeconomic status a person is, that life matters.

I am extremely blessed in that I have friends — true friends, who are different from me. I cherish each one of them not only because they are different from me, but also because we are much the same. We are all striving to live a happy, prosperous life. We are all dedicated to our families and love on our friends fiercely. We are all eager to make a positive difference in the lives of others. We are adamant about being there when one of us needs the other. We love each other. When my phone rings, I don’t look at the caller ID and see color, I see my friend’s name.

Friends are defined by character, morals, values, not whether their skin is the same color as yours. It’s all about surrounding yourself with people who make you laugh, feel good about yourself, accepts your differences, and hold you close through the good times and especially the bad times.

Love on those folks hard.

Leave a Reply

