The Whole Person

Admittedly, I’ve been in a slump. It’s not because I don’t have enough to do or because I don’t like the things that I do; I’ve just been feeling out of sorts.

Writing

Let Me Write!

I love writing. I mean I really love writing. I love writing here (even though that’s not readily evident by the number of posts I’ve published lately), and I love content writing. I can’t say that I’ve been hit with a major bout of writer’s block because that wasn’t the case, either. I just couldn’t settle myself down enough to write. I couldn’t get my mind on that “writer’s” track. I’m back though and in that light, I’m back in earnest.

It’s always been my intention to post here 5-6 days a week, but here’s the deal: if I don’t have a calendar of some sort in front of me, I get off track. I get discombobulated. I’ve always been the type of person who needs structure and I’ve always used a paper calendar. For years, though, I went the electronic route and kept my entire life on either my iPhone calendar or Google’s online calendar. Ultimately, that didn’t work for me. Well, not entirely. I’ve been using a paper calendar since elementary school and I’m more or less back to my roots. I still use Google for calendaring Will’s games, timed matters that I need an alarm for, and calendars that I share with Will, but my hands are almost always wrapped around my Erin Condren Life Planner. I love that thing because it also serves as memory keeper for me. Erin Condren provides discounts for new customers (via a discount code provided by and through current customers) and ongoing current customer discounts. Nope, I’m not advertising for them, I just like to share anything I consider good. I consider my Life Planner a good thing because I need the structure.

Mary Kay

e303684dfc149d41d7af46229947c9efI’m also dedicating an equal amount of time to my Mary Kay business. I haven’t mentioned the fact that I’m a Mary Kay sales consultant here because, in all honesty, I haven’t worked my business the way it should be worked. I allowed fear to convince me that I wouldn’t do well, but I know that’s a lie.

My purposes for starting my Mary Kay business this time around are exactly the same as they were the other times: I want to earn money and I want to help other women. Mary Kay provides an EXCELLENT source of part-time or even full-time income, but more than anything, it is one of the best ways on Earth to help other women. That help comes in the form of helping another lady start her own business, thereby earning a good amount of money, but for the woman who just wants to feel better about herself, the purpose is all the more important.

I have been blessed to encounter women who have been in abusive situations and felt alone but was comfortable enough with me after I shared my own story of overcoming abuse that she was able to release her’s. That kind of thing beats a monetary sale any day of the week. It’s more the human connection that I’m out to make rather than the monetary aspect.

MFA

I am also looking forward to getting back into the classroom. Well, in reality, I won’t7_Steps_to_Guide_Your_Graduate_School_Search actually be in the physical classroom as I’m taking online classes, but I’m getting it done! My enrollment is completed so I’m officially a graduate student at Southern New Hampshire University. My anticipated graduation date is March 2018. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time. I’m beyond excited to get that advanced degree.

The Whole Person

It’s taken me some years to put the woman who is Trease back together again. I was broken into a million pieces. I didn’t know if I was coming or going. I didn’t know who I was. Today, I am proud to say that I’m a whole person. I am a writer, a blogger, a Mary Kay Sales Consultant, and a graduate student. Every one of my titles reflects on my ultimate calling of helping other women overcome and survive. The whole woman that I am is the bridge for others to cross over on.

2 thoughts on “The Whole Person

  1. You are my virtual strength when my contentious divorce from my husband, of 19- years and the father of my beautiful 18 year-old daughter, becomes more than I can handle. I understand better than most how the psychological scars from the torment endured never seem to quite heal, and since they are not visible to the naked eye, everyone mistakenly thinks you’re fine. If they could only see the disintegration of your self-confidence, mental stability, and thought process, then perhaps they would begin to understand just how destructive years of psychological cruelty can be to the human psyche (e.g., gaslighting).

    Like

    1. You have no idea how much this means to me. I believe each of us are put on this planet to help the next person in one way or another. We’re all given different strengths. Alesandra, you’re here to help, too. Regardless of the way that you choose to help, you will be someone’s saving grace one day. I know what it means to be battered so severely in the mental and emotional realm that you don’t even recognize the person in the mirror. You do, too. Stay strong for your daughter and more so, for yourself. You have so much good living to do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

