Counting My Blessings

Just like every other person on this planet, I’ve had my share of troubles. I was blatantly mistreated by a man I loved with all my heart. I was mentally, emotionally, and verbally abused to the point that I suffered a brain hemorrhage. That abuse ravaged my psyche to the point that any self-esteem, self-worth, and/or self-confidence I may have had going into that marriage was alleviated in the end.

I was always taught to be grateful for the things I had and especially for the people in my life. I’ve always done those things because I know how quickly “things” can disappear from our lives and I know, even better, how death (either proverbial or otherwise) can take people from our lives. The wall that I built around my heart and my head caused me to block out so much life. It was never about me taking people or things for granted; I just wasn’t available mentally or emotionally for anyone or anything other than Will. I couldn’t feel anything. It didn’t matter waht was going on, I just couldn’t feel.

The day came, though, when my mind began to clear. That, in and of itself, is one of the greatest blessings that’s been bestowed on me. I’m able to feel again. I’m able to clearly see and count my blessings again.

Life if the ultimate greatest blessing. It’s even moreso for me since I came so close to dieing on July 21, 2009. My son is one of my greatest blessings. My granddaugher is one of my greatest blessings. My family (immediate and extended) is one of my greatest blessings. The fact that I have a nice, warm bed to climb into every night is one of my greatest blessings. The fact that there are four freezers filled to the brim with any kind of meat or seafood a person could possibly want is one of my greatest blessings. The fact that I have no residual brain damage as a result of that hemorrhage is one of my greatest blessings. The fact that I am able to do two of the things I love most — reading and writing – is an immense blessing.

I won’t let a day go by without letting the people who mean the most to me know that they are a blessing to me. Life is far too short to leave anyone wondering.

Leave a Reply

