Those You Encounter

I encounter women of all walks of life every day and I consider that a blessing. My prayer is that whoever I cross paths with receives some kind of blessing from me. I want to be just what another person may need at exactly the right moment.

I was blessed to have a conversation with a stranger a while back and I’d like to share a little of it with you. I was in the nail shop and as is the case 99% of the time, I struck up a conversation with a woman sitting behind me. She was waiting for her daughter to finish up and to be honest, I don’t remember how I initiated the conversation, but before long, we started talking about where I live and she asked me how I ended up in such a small town. I told her that I had been born and raised in Sarepta, but that I had unwillingly landed back here after my divorce.

I’ve never shied away from telling people that I did not want to move back home because besides the fact that I love(d) the city, I had to move back because, in essence, my ex-husband had decided to toss me out like last week’s garbage. Some time after the divorce was final, he told me that he had moved us to the Dallas area with the intention of divorcing me. Even today, that hurts me. He told me that when the subject of moving came up, he jumped at the chance because he knew that by moving us to Dallas, he would be bringing me relatively close to my family so he wouldn’t feel so bad. Long before he said a word about divorce, it had been his intent. This is the type of deceit I lived with for years. He was conniving.

JPEG image-0AE2F52E51DC-1.jpeg
Trease Shine Hinton

Anywho, back to the subject at hand. I shared the fact that I had been in an extremely abusive marriage, but that I had moved on and had not only decided on new roads to take, I was actually taking them. I told her that I had had no real time to lick my wounds, throw numerous pity parties, and wallow in self-pity because I have a son and granddaughter to take care of. I told her that while I had certainly had to re-adjust to living with fewer “things”, I am also well-versed in the living of life and know how to re-attain all the things I lost in the “fire” of the divorce.

 

I had actually lost very few material things, but I didn’t want those things because they were representative of a period in my life that I would just as soon forget. Please note that I only use that as a reference because I don’t want want to forget anything that happened because, without that knowledge, I wouldn’t have my story. I have the ability to replace it all and I’m going to.

JPEG image-75D14A2785F5-1
Photo Credit: Trease Shine Hinton

 

I think she was slightly taken aback because she said she had never encountered anyone else who had been in my situation with such a positive outlook and personality. Anyone who knows me knows that I believe laughter is the best medicine. I believe that ALL problems have solutions. I believe that ALL issues have resolutions. I believe in the fact that if you so choose, you can start again from exactly where you’re standing.

I have been blessed to encounter and befriend some of the most amazing women on this planet who have allowed me to become their sisters, comrades, and confidantes. I have been blessed to encounter and befriend some of the most amazing men on this planet who have taken me under their wings as brothers from different mothers. I was blessed many, many years ago to encounter the man who is my soulmate. It is my prayer that I have blessed them in some small way.

Look to be a blessing and I promise you, you will be blessed. What goes around will always, always come around. Make certain those things are good things. Be that blessing.

Leave a Reply

