But It’s Just Me 

I’ve heard so many women say that. It’s often a precursor to the excuse/reason as to why they can’t do what is being asked of them and sometimes what is actually required of them. I’ve heard myself say it more than once when presented with challenges that I had subconsciously pre-determined that I couldn’t do. I found myself declaring that “it’s just me” in a sort of defeated manner shortly after my divorce when it came to thoughts of financing my son’s college education without the promised help from his father, when it came to me preparing to build my “forever” home, when it came to me deciding on the luxury vehicle that I will purchase, and when it came to me providing financial assistance to my friends and family.

JPEG image-9E7800294502-1.jpegJust like many other women who have escaped domestic abuse, I was left not only broken, but was also severely battered mentally and emotionally, and feeling worthless. Even with my bachelor’s degree in Business Management and paralegal certification, I felt that I had nothing in the way of earning power. Even with all my background in the legal world and insurance, I felt like I was fresh out of high school with no options. The fact that he had once told me that my degree wasn’t as important as his and the fact that I had chosen to stay home with Will for many years only compounded the fact that he told me I would never get a job again. For the longest time, I believed him. Well, let me say I knew better, but I believed him for quite some time.

The Truth: It Is Just You

My sister, the fact that it’s just you is perfectly fine. See, what I had to re-learn is that I am a woman of power. I am a woman of resource. I am a woman of commitment. I am a woman who knows how to get things done, especially when it comes to my child and grandchild. I am a woman who refuses to allow any other person on this planet define me, what I am or who I am. I am a woman who will use my knowledge, my drive, my determination, my wit, my education, and my desire to live a comfortable life. I will grind from 9 A.M. to 10 P.M. not only to make my life what I want it to be but to be a bridge for other women to cross over on. My work — my Mary Kay business, my blogging, my ability to speak to women on a public platform, my other entrepreneurial quests — is actually not work because I would indeed do them all without pay. I am blessed, though to earn a living from them all. It is just me and that’s more than enough.

Girl, it may be just you, but trust and believe that is more than enough. You are more than enough. Decided that you’re going to do that thing and do it. Period. Work hard to be who and what you want to be. No one in this world can decide that you’re not enough other than you. Believe in yourself and don’t let the nonsense of self-doubt and self-pity occupy even an inch of your life.

2 thoughts on “But It’s Just Me 

Leave a Reply

