The High Price of Unforgiveness

Besides the fact that you lose your mental and emotional freedom when you refuse to forgive or simply can’t forgive, every single day, you risk losing a part of your physical health and wellbeing.

Physical illnesses and ailments almost always accompany the lack of forgiveness. I spent years nursing some kind of physical pain or another due the anger and unforgiveness I harbored. Here are just a few of the ailments you can expect to accompany your unwillingness to forgive:

  • Anxiety
  • High blood pressure
  • Immune problems
  • Insomnia
  • Chronic pain
  • Cancer
  • Heart attack

New, Undesirable Character Traits and Conditions Developed

  • Bitterness. Bitterness is born of hurt and I was hurt beyond measure. I was hurt to the point that I was numb. My bitterness grew as he constantly made note of it to me and anyone else who would listen. He loved telling people that I was evil. I wasn’t evil, but I sure was the epitome of bitter. The animosity I felt toward him was actually visible. You could see the bitterness I felt for him.
  • Resentment. I felt resentment for everything as a result of my unwillingness to forgive him after a while. My view of life itself became jaded. I was squeezing that hatred so tightly that it was impossible for me to open and lift my hands to God and ask for help.
  • Depression. Unsuppressed emotions result in depression, but depression that results from unforgiveness is even more dangerous. A person suffering from unforgiveness depression cannot trust other people to share his/her feelings, which further triggers negative stressors and worsen the situation.

Unforgiveness: The Poison to Your Soul

Finally, unforgiveness is against the will of God. Matthew 6:14 says:
For if ye forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. We don’t have a choice but to forgive if we are to live in accordance with His word.

I’ll leave you with this: the inability or lack of desire to forgive can and will kill you. No one has the right to occupy such a large portion of your thoughts and feelings that you’re willing to die because of the wrong they’ve done. Free yourself.

One thought on “The High Price of Unforgiveness

Leave a Reply

