National Domestic Abuse Awareness Month

October is National Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Although the awfulness of domestic violence must be placed in the spotlight every single minute of every single day, this month is special in that we set aside time to mourn those who have died because of domestic violence, to celebrate those who have survived, and to connect with those who strive to end domestic violence.

I survived 19 years of mental and emotional domestic violence that was so horrendous that I suffered a brain hemorrhage on July 21, 2009. Had I died that day, my child’s birthday would have been forever marred by that day since he was born on July 26th.

Because I survived, because I am too tough to give up and too determined to live life on my own terms, I strive to help other women who are caught in the horrific throes of domestic violence. I cannot save everyone. I will, however, work tirelessly to guide other women to a place a safety by sharing my story.

If you are in danger, call 911, or reach the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1­-800-799-7233 or TTY 1­-800-787-3224. Know that there are people who love you and who can help you.

2 thoughts on “National Domestic Abuse Awareness Month

Leave a Reply

