The Gathering

I won’t make this one, but it’s the last one I’ll ever miss. Just like everyone else who knows the really good stuff, I’ve known for a while that Blogher15 is coming up shortly. As I’m still adjusting to life after divorce, life as a relocated empty-nester, life as a grandmother, and life as the co-caregiver of a mother with dementia, I am in no position to travel too far from home. Lots of things are holding me in the area, but as is life, things are constantly changing. I’ll be in attendance next year. Believe that.

Meanwhile, I’ll continue to read the works of my fellow bloggers. As a blogger, it is an honor for me to share my journey with my readers. It’s been a hard one but in all honesty, I wouldn’t change a thing because, without the bumps and bruises, my character wouldn’t be what it is. My spirit wouldn’t be what it is. My grit and determination to make my life what I want it to be wouldn’t have developed to the heightened level that it’s reached.

I read lots of blogs but the five that have done the most for my spirit are as follows:

  • A Blog by Dube by Stephanie Dube Dwilson, at http://blog.stephaniedube.com – she covers a variety of topics, but the devotionals are what carries me through some of my rougher days
  • Brown Girl from Boston by Andrea C. Imafidon, at http://www.browngirlfromboston.com – she identifies with my journey as a Black woman
  • Awesomely Luvvie by Luvie – (the first name is enough), at http://www.awesomelyluvvie.com – the vast array of 24/7 foolishness and shenanigans gives me life! Plain and simple, it gives me life!
  • The Diary of an Alzheimer’s Caregiver by Rena McDaniel, at http://www.thediaryofanalzheimerscaregiver.com – she feels my heart as a caregiver of an Alzheimer/dementia patient
  • Lean On and Lead by Shay Chan Hodges, at http://www.leanonandlead.com – this woman is the picture of inspiration and a champion for her causes

What I imagine will happen is after the formalities and the introductions, educational sessions like no other will begin to take place. The more established bloggers will share their stories, their knowledge, and their expertise in a manner that will make the less experienced bloggers believe that they have what it takes to walk into their greatness, too. I imagine that in the downtime, friendships and connections will be formed that won’t end in the standard, “let’s keep in touch!”. Those folks are really going to keep in touch because as joined forces, big things will happen. I imagine that personal stories will be shared that will provide proof that there is life after the storm, that you can live through it, and that you must tell the world about it. I have one to tell, and I will. Next year, ladies, next year.

T. Shine Hinton

NaBloPoMo July 2015 

Leave a Reply

