The Purpose of the Test

I’ve been writing about the 19 years I was married and the near two-year ordeal following my divorce in 2013 for some time now. I knew, back in November 2012, that I needed to become transparent in order to fulfill my calling and my purpose. I know for a fact that I didn’t survive that ICU stay to sit by idly as other women suffered what I had. Personally, I would have been angry with myself if I had chosen not to disclose the things I had gone through. Women are trapped in abusive relations and, unfortunately, most don’t see a way out. For the longest time, I didn’t

We Come From All Walks of Life

As I’ve said before, I have a Bachelor’s degree in Business Management and am a certificated Paralegal. I have common sense. Because of those facts, I become really bothered when I hear people say a woman stays in an abusive situation because she doesn’t have an education or whatever. Every woman’s reason for staying is her own. None of us can  judge another’s situation because you likely don’t know the circumstance. We can’t.

The One I Wished They’d Seen

My post titled “Invisible Wounds” (https://clealsgirl.wordpress.com/2015/02/04/invisible-wounds/) made some connections, but I really wish it done better. There are so many people who don’t mental and emotional slaying to be elements of an abusive marriage. Most people are of the belief that if a woman is not being physically beaten, she is not truly being abused. I beg to differ. Abuse is abuse. I finally folded to the mental and emotional abuse on July 21, 2009, when I suffered a brain hemorrhage. Even if you don’t have a medical background, you know that most people – the large majority of  people – don’t survive those.

Keeping Silent Voids the Test

Who am I to keep my story to myself? How in the world would that help the woman who becomes physically ill when she hears that key in the door? How would keeping silent help the woman who rides around for hours just to keep from going home? I did that stuff for years. I can’t keep quiet. I’m not going to. I’ll talk and write as long as I’m able to.

T. Shine Hinton

Women's Lives

Leave a Reply

