My Delivery

All my life, I’ve talked a lot. A LOT. Don’t get me wrong, I know when to shut up. I haven’t always know when to zip it, but I learned. That mouth of mine helped me get some very important jobs, but it also caused me to lose a couple of good ones. Over the years, I’ve honed my communication skills to near perfection. As an insurance claims professional and a paralegal, talking to people was what made me invaluable to my employers and what allowed the companies I worked for to win cases.

After some time, I left the corporate world and became self-employed. Good communication skills were vital to my success because what I said, what I promised, had to be clear. There could be no gray area. My word has always been my bond but in sales, it is literally your lifeline. It’s how I made money. Here lately, I am not into the sales arena like I used to be because my focus has shifted to blogging, writing and reaching women who are trapped inside abusive relationships but my communication skills are even more important now.

I am so appreciative of the fact that I know how to talk to people. More importantly, I know how to listen to people. Every single one of us is different. You have to meet people where they stand. With some people, you can shot straight from the hip. With others, you have to coddle them. All sorts of things will prevent a person from opening up, but one of the most obvious is your approach. Gentleness is what’s needed in these cases. Some people are ready to start spilling the beans from jump. That’s me. I spent many years trapped inside a marriage where I couldn’t be open and honest with the one person who should have been my sounding board regardless of the situation or circumstance. I’m blessed to have that now and I’ll never take it for granted.

People get what I’m saying. They get exactly what I’m saying because I have always, and will always, make a point of asking if they did. I never do it in a condescending way (because I hate being treated like I’m stupid), but I make certain there are no questions. I don’t like gray areas. I am one of those people who fully believe there is no such thing as a stupid question. Even with my online presence, I make a point of being clear. Your word is your bond. It shouldn’t be confusing.

Leave a Reply

