Pits, Snares and Other Stupid Thing

1158313920Mahalia Jackson said it in a song: “If you dig one ditch you better dig two ’cause the trap you set just may be for you.”

Sir Walter Scott was quoted as saying: Oh, what a tangled web we weave
When first we practice to deceive.

Proverbs 26:27 says it best: Whoso diggeth a pit shall fall therein: and he that rolleth a stone, it will return upon him.

I’ve never understood where people find the time to plan another person’s downfall. Clearly, they have too much time on their hands. I’ve found that some of those people are not concerned with the old adage that what goes around comes around. Well, they are, which is why some of them feel like they are actually what comes around. It’s a vicious circle. You hurt me, I hurt you back. It never ends. Then there are the ones who are busy planning the demise of people who haven’t done a thing to them. Enter yours truly.

I recently found out that during the 19 years that I was married, I was fighting an unseen enemy. I learned in the end that the enemy was pretty sure of a victory. I won’t say that I never fought back because that would be a blatant lie. I fought and I fought hard. Then one day, I decided to do what I had been taught all my life – I surrendered all of it to God. Needless to say, I came out on top. I hate to see anyone suffer so to say I am happy for my enemy’s defeat goes deeper than a surface statement. I’m happy that I was shielded and taken care of. I am thrilled that I am able to hold my head up and move on. I am not happy about the mental beating the other person is dealing with. It’s not in my nature to enjoy anyone else’s pain.

Be mindful of how you treat people. Be careful of the fights you pick. Seriously, what goes around comes right back around. If you dish it out, be prepared to take it back.

Leave a Reply

