Bienvenue en Louisiane!


 

Today, I got my Louisiana driver’s license. That may not seem like a big deal, but in my story, it represents a finality to a move that began last year.

Most people know that I was divorced last year and moved back to my home state, Louisiana. My divorce was final on April 5, 2013 (my ex appeared before the judge on March 5th – I chose not to go) but it wasn’t until June 2013 that I decided to go home. Initially, I had refused to return to Louisiana because I was already feeling that I had failed at EVERYTHING and I would *not* go home with my tail tucked between my legs. I’m very active on Facebook, where my list of friends consist of people I’ve know my entire life and naturally, my family. I had posted about how stressful it had been finding a place when one of my cousins posted two words in response: “Come home”. For reasons I still can’t quite explain, a sense of relief and peace came over me when I read those words and I decided that that’s what I would do. As it turns out, it was the best decision I’ve made in many, many years.

Louisiana mansion

I missed my family. I missed my childhood home. I missed the ease of being in the country. The move itself is hard. It was extremely hard, physically, but excruciatingly so, on a mental level. I didn’t feel like it was the best thing in the beginning because I felt that I had been pushed into doing something that I didn’t want to do. This however, was a prime example of how sometimes, you have to pushed over the edge in order for your wings to sprout. I’ve always known how to take care of myself but that push reminded me that I’m good at it.

I am officially a resident of Louisiana and plan to explore my state (all over again) from top to bottom. Being where you thought you didn’t want to be is sometimes the most perfect place for you! Laissez le bon temps rouler!

Leave a Reply

