Then Who?

Yesterday, I started my 4-hour, monthly drive to Louisiana shortly after 6 A.M., which placed me at my mother’s doorstep at 10:30 A.M. (give or take a few minutes). I spent a total of 10 minutes chatting with her, while gathering up her and my sister’s bills. I got her signature where I needed it and headed off (with my nephew) to pay the bills and get groceries. I had completed every thing by 2:15 P.M. and was back on the road by 2:30, making my way back to my son and trying to beat the fore-casted winter storm.

Since I had a total of eight hours of actual driving, I had lots of time for phone calls and thinking. Two of the people who I spoke with were in total shock that I had made the trip to and from Louisiana to pay my mom’s and sister’s bills and to get groceries. They could not believe that I would do that. I, on the other hand, could not believe the implication that they wouldn’t. I realize that for many people, it would be a major inconvenience, but I am of the belief that God places you where you need to be, when you need to be there. There are numerous people who could be there to help in this situation, but they’re not willing to. It would serve as no sacrifice on their part because their current situations allow them more time that I have as the mother of a teen-aged son, and whose husband travels for work. Two of my siblings could be there in my place, but yesterday, I gave the entire matter A LOT of thought.

I am far from being selfish and anyone who knows that will attest to that fact; however, I know that there is always more that I could do. My family means the world to me and I will do whatever I can for them. In that light, I began to wonder if the people who were questioning my efforts would leave their family in a lurch when they need them. I would like to think not. There hasn’t been a time when I’ve been in need that my mother and sister have not sacrificed whatever they’ve had to in order to help me. Regardless of how big that need was, the two of them have been there. Why wouldn’t I do the same for them? If I don’t help them, then who will? What I do for them is not a “payback” effort, rather it is a labor of love. There won’t always be a need for me to do this. My mother is 81 and her health is quickly declining. My sister is nearing the end of a very long military career. I will do what I can for them, till I can’t do anything else.

Family should be cherished. They are you.

2 thoughts on “Then Who?

Leave a Reply

